Seeking Nominations for 2011 Teacher of the Year Library Award

Union College Library is seeking nominations for the 2011 Teacher of theYear Award.

This award recognizes a Union College teacher's support of the library during the school year and grants him or her the opportunity to expand an area of the library's collection which is of particular professional interest.

Last year's winner, Mike Huckabee, says the award gave him "the opportunity to make a special investment that will serve both the PA Students and the faculty.  I’m grateful for the library giving us the opportunity." 

The 2011 winning nominee will be someone who:

  • Actively uses library resources for personal research
  • Promotes library use among students
  • Supports library-sponsored programs
  • Regularly recommends new materials for acquisition
  • Assists with maintenance of the collection through weeding

The winner will be announced during National Library Week, April 10-16, 2011, and will receive $500 spending credit toward his or her library materials requests for the 2011-2012 fiscal year beyond the regular divisional allocation.

To make a nomination (faculty may nominate themselves), submit the name along with one paragraph describing how the nominee meets the above criteria to Sabrina Riley.  E-mail, campus mail, and hand delivery all accepted.  Nominations will not be accepted after March 30, 2011.  The winner will be selected by the library staff.

Previous winners:
(Previous winners are eligible for a second award after five years.)

2010 Mike Huckabee (eligible again in 2015)
2009 Tanya Cochran (eligible again in 2014)
2008 Mark Robison (eligible again in 2013)
2007 Edward Allen (eligible again in 2012)
2006 Joann Herrington
2005 Karl-Heinz Schroeder
2004 Kathy Bollinger